The Urgency to Read

The other day I read a wonderful article from ILA about how schools can do all this work around data and reading and testing, but what happens when the scores are flat? Is your school creating readers?

Please read the article here.

When I read this article, I felt a sense of happiness because we need to always be talking about the question “does our school foster a love of reading?”. But I also felt a little distraught, because this I feel this is where my school is at. We have amazing faculty who understand where are students are and where need to be, and I think we are having conversations that need to be had, but I still think we are falling short. We are failing to address the underlying problem of why our students are struggling as a whole, there is no urgency to be a reader.

Now, I am not talking about the urgency to read to pass a test. Yes, students should be able to perform well on assessments, but when that falls shorts, its time to shift the conversation and look from a different angle.I am talking about this urgency to read because of the joy and pleasure reading bring to your life.

Why do we need urgent readers?

The other day my colleague posted a review of Raymie Nightingale and I was so excited she read it because I wanted to talk to her about it, actually, I needed to talk to her about it!

Books need to be talked about, they need to be shared, they need to be at the forefront of our lives and our students lives. The urgency to read is driven because of the remarkable benefits of reading. We need to read for pleasure, we need to read to share, we need to read to create communities.

It is necessary for our students to become readers who need to share their latest book with someone. Who need to always have a book with them. Who need to have dedicated time to read. This is an urgent reader.

Our schools need to be creating this type of environment where reading for pleasure is the forefront of the school. If the only thing we do with books in our schools is use them to answer multiple choice questions and “close read” them to death, then we are doing our students and books a huge disservice.

What are we doing in our schools to create urgent readers?

Leave a Reply

